thediastema's Diaryland Diary

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

Patriotism? Whatever, pass the cordite.

Okay, neither Durwood nor I is big into the "true meaning of 4 July," but stuff blowing up interests us all the same, so with a few friends (like Jed and his girlfriend Bae*, whom I adore) we hiked up to Durwood's favourite viewing spot, above the lime kilns at the edge of the ritzy north part of town.

Only one other group of people was there, and they had no ability to shut their holes, so we made a game out of muttering "That's what your last date said" under our breath at key points in their discussion.

"That's what your last date said" evolved at PTC concessions, but since the trip to Idaho Jed and Durwood have picked up a serious habit of it as well. When we really like to be ironic, Durwood will say it to me or Bae will say it to Jed, and then we'll go, "You ass, I WAS your last date!" Looooooo-zerz.

Back to the story. The neat thing about this vantage point was it allowed us to watch the whole valley, no less than five or six fireworks displays were in view at any given time. Bae liked the one in the shape of a five-point star, and Durwood and I pointed out that it looked like an inverted pentagram to at least some of the spectators. My favourite was one that looked like an atomic model -- the kind with electrons in orbits around the nucleus, whose name escapes me presently. It also changed colours once or twice.

We made a perfunctory stop at the party at Dinah's parents' place. I'd not been there since January, and was unprepared for the relative deadness of the place at half past midnight. I had a Coke, Durwood had a smoke, and after some idle chitchat in separate venues we were on our way.

He was half asleep by this point, so he stuck the keys in my hand.

I have driven his car. The Corolla. "Todd."

I read somewhere that that means something.

~~

I came home and dreamed he dropped a bomb in my neighbourhood. It turned out all my cats survived.

~ETK

15:49 - 05 July, 2003

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

previous - next

latest entry

about me

archives

notes

DiaryLand

contact

random entry

other diaries:

andshewas
andrew
androydegirl
apexsensatin
arriyah
azazoth
badgrammar
bayliss
binzey
blowtorch
bn2b
captionthis
constable
dialectical
duckfoil
eon
feetintheair
get-a-grip
hot-topic
jamayia
jesuscrust
kissacod
libbylynn
localaura
m-1967
modernlove
motherlode
mornglory
oddgoogle
onea
orewane
petite-bijou
pharinet
purefiction
rebecca
shlippy
silverangelz
soch
socio-eco
mai-liis
toejam
tones
torchy
thunderdave
turtleguy
woweezowee
waterstain
arquene
booknoser
hotmonkeysex
darklily
maidofspades
tiendasexo
laughercurve
krazyfox
adwhore
bobmcgoogle