thediastema's Diaryland Diary

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

Dialogue bites

My narrative's feeling a little anaemic lately, so I thought I'd just post excerpts from dialogue that occurred over the past few days.

~~

From an e-mail from Dimples:

Give me the updates!!! As for me, last night I went to a soccer game between North and South Korea, which -probably symbolically- ended in a 0-0 draw. The game followed reunification and peace discussions between the two countries. They haven't come together to play soccer, a very unifying sport, for ten years. It was a good feeling, and the entire crowd of ~50,000 in the Seoul World Cup Stadium went crazy when one of the South's more popular players revealed "Jesus loves North Korea" written on his undershirt. It was a good feeling, and I'm really glad I was there.

And, from an e-mail to Dimples:

Here is your laugh of the day: Texas has been hired in the Box Office. PrettySnorts and I talked it over and decided that if Durwood had an older brother who was baptised into the LDS faith and taught to lindy hop, then had a brief stint in the Texas correctional system, he'd be just like Texas. I'm trying to keep an open mind about the potential longevity of the situation. Snorts over there gives him "a month, maybe." What do you think?

~~

From a discussion with Pelican:

"Erin, he was going to ask you out, and you bailed on us."

Shrug.

"Erin, he's great! What's not to love? He likes They Might Be Giants! He's cool!"

"I'm not the one who likes They Might Be Giants. That's Heidi."

"...o, yeah."

~~

From a chat with Dick:

"There's a guy on my floor who has a thing for me, but he's really short."

"Wait, is this that one guy? The blond guy?"

"With the skateboard."

"Yeah!"

"Yeah."

"Babe, GO for it. He's CUTE!"

"No he's not! You know how they say everybody's the same height lying down?"

"Uh-huh."

"It's not true! His face would be in my boobs!"

"That's a GOOD thing, trust me! Besides, between how short he is and how tall you are, your kids would be the perfect height!"

~~

From a discussion with Pelican AND Dick:

"So who's Sasquatch?"

"Sasquatch is ... a person."

"I gathered that."

"He is a male."

"Gathered that, too."

"You've SEEN him, P. I'm jealous."

"DICK!"

"I mean, uh, never mind."

"DICK!"

"I've seen him?!"

An hour or so later.

"Right-handed."

"What're the odds."

"Dyslexic."

"Lysdexic?"

"Yes."

"Okay."

An hour after that:

"Okay, if I tell you about this, it stays between us. No telling Dimples."

"Okay."

"No, man, I MEAN that."

"I swear."

"No telling HM, either, or anybody else at work."

"Okay."

"You know him."

"Okay."

"You think he's gay."

Silence over the car.

"That could be any straight male other than Jedediah, Erin."

"O, yeah."

"Okay, he was at the party."

"Okay."

"And we wouldn't touch each other."

"That guy?"

"Not Skinny. The other one you thought was gay."

Pregnant pause. "That blond kid?!"

"I KNOW!"

"Why?!"

"I don't KNOW!"

"He's a little dweeb!"

"I KNOW!"

"O, no ... you like dweebs, don't you?"

"She SO likes dweebs."

"Why?!"

"I KNOW, I KNOW! You tell Dimples, I kill!"

"Okay. You could do better, you know."

~~

And from Maura:

"Erin, you look like a mom!"

~ETK

All those other bad days I've ever ranted about? Hoo...they could glue themselves together, staple a few Whitney Houston albums on, wallow around in radioactive nutrasweet syrup and still only have one fifth the evil tonight had.

--another from Heidi

13:12 - 08 September, 2002

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

previous - next

latest entry

about me

archives

notes

DiaryLand

contact

random entry

other diaries:

andshewas
andrew
androydegirl
apexsensatin
arriyah
azazoth
badgrammar
bayliss
binzey
blowtorch
bn2b
captionthis
constable
dialectical
duckfoil
eon
feetintheair
get-a-grip
hot-topic
jamayia
jesuscrust
kissacod
libbylynn
localaura
m-1967
modernlove
motherlode
mornglory
oddgoogle
onea
orewane
petite-bijou
pharinet
purefiction
rebecca
shlippy
silverangelz
soch
socio-eco
mai-liis
toejam
tones
torchy
thunderdave
turtleguy
woweezowee
waterstain
arquene
booknoser
hotmonkeysex
darklily
maidofspades
tiendasexo
laughercurve
krazyfox
adwhore
bobmcgoogle