thediastema's Diaryland Diary

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

Second time I've been kissed by a chick this year. Third kiss by a human of any kind.

Finally, Diaryland's back up again! Every time this happens I go read Andrew's news, and I have to say, I'm turned on by the time I get to his first use of the word "colocation." Rrrrrowr.

~~

The marketing team has been killing lately! The other night we set a goal of three grand, and topped about eighty-five hundred. Crazy.

~~

Dinah had an impromptu going-away party for Dimples the other night. I caravaned out to Suburbia after work with Pelican Dude.

At the party I stumbled upon Dimples (who greeted me with a huge kiss, I'm not kidding) and then upon a lineup of guys straight out of a bad teen soap opera.

Based on an acid-tripper's Cliff Notes.

Of my nightmares. And starring (in ascending order of total inconvenience to me)

  • Jedediah
  • Skinny, the BNL-lovin' guy from the the earlier party who offered drunkenly to dump his girlfriend to ask me out
  • Alternayuppie

In the last instance, the guy happened to be occupying half of the Chesterfield formerly known as the Chesterfield O' Moderate Action, the other half of which was the only open seat available to me. For a moment I dawdled in the kitchen, feigning interest in a vicious connect-the-dot game between Skinny and a few of his pals, but soon Dimples invited me to join the soiree in the den, and there I was, sharing a loveseat with the sweet blond bane of my existence, swigging down a potent potable whipped up by bartender Pelican and deliberately avoiding so much as the accidental brush of elbows.

Screw spoiling a perfect opportunity. Why ruin a perfect two-year record?

Dimples made the rounds with Dinah's camera, ordering people to pose wherever they were. We were on the same piece of furniture, already a new intimacy level for us, and she noticed the mammoth gap of unused cushion space between our sad little asses.

"Yeah, you guys, act like you hate each other!" she snarked, holding up the camera.

With little cuing, I turned my back on him and looked pointedly at my wristwatch. He probably did something similarly disdainful.

I'll never know, because then she told us she was kidding and ordered us to "Act like you CAN stand each other. Please?"

Oooof. How were we gonna pull this off without violating our policy of avoiding physical contact with one another like mutually-hypocritical lepers?!

We tilted our heads vaguely toward each other and smiled our fakest possible smiles.

Eventually the other guests ran out of stories to tell and discussions took shape between pairs. Yuppie and I breathed labouredly and groped wildly, blindly, desperately...

That is, for any possible small talk that qualified as being even a short distance away from "banal as all hell," I mean.

We settled on topic: PTC. Not sure whether it was the booze (he'd had a teeny bit, I was swigging away) or the fact that we're both a little on the bland side of vanilla and have nothing more interesting to say than "Heh, remember that time when blah de blah blah" or "You know how x and y always used to" or "You still in touch with z?"

Again as always I neglected to note the colour of his stupid myopic little eyes. I will never know this about him.

Did catch myself looking at his groin later, though.

~~

I got up to use the washroom, then came back to my spot. Later, Yuppie got up to use the washroom, at which point Jedediah wasted no time snagging the spot warmed up by Yuppie's ass. I was a little bit relieved and a little bit annoyed. When the other party returned from his field trip, he displayed the slightest trace of bemusement, but probably he just missed his coveted spot on a cushy piece of furniture.

And anyway it's not supposed to make a difference to me.

~~

Pelican entertained us with stories about how he lost teeth in a Kentucky barroom brawl. Then he whisked me away to explain how I would be involved in a simple party trick.

Not drunk but tipsy enough to be quite unsure of my cognitive abilities, I tried to grasp the instructions, then told him to make Dimples be his secret assistant.

I must be psychic, because after several rounds, it was Yuppie's turn to be the sucker asked to pick the penny out of the lineup, and he gave me a look ordering me not to watch because "I think she's in on this."

I lay down like the whore I am and covered my eyes.

Having proven my "lack of involvement" as Pelican and Dimples again duped our audience, I made a face at my accuser. "'Cause I'm obviously such an accomplice, here."

He maintained his ground. "I'm watching you."

Well of all the bad possible things to say. I went home and slept four hours before getting up for work, and got no rest due to a solid block of smutty dreams.

~~

Dimples's plane left at about ten last night.

Pelican gave her a big backpack full of goodies. It's pretty clear he's still smitten.

He then accompanied her to the airport.

~ETK

Alright. Walking 3 or 4 miles and back just to get your latest pair of converse?

That's overdoing things a bit.

--Heidi "I Don't Have a Problem" Perry

15:59 - 29 August, 2002

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

previous - next

latest entry

about me

archives

notes

DiaryLand

contact

random entry

other diaries:

andshewas
andrew
androydegirl
apexsensatin
arriyah
azazoth
badgrammar
bayliss
binzey
blowtorch
bn2b
captionthis
constable
dialectical
duckfoil
eon
feetintheair
get-a-grip
hot-topic
jamayia
jesuscrust
kissacod
libbylynn
localaura
m-1967
modernlove
motherlode
mornglory
oddgoogle
onea
orewane
petite-bijou
pharinet
purefiction
rebecca
shlippy
silverangelz
soch
socio-eco
mai-liis
toejam
tones
torchy
thunderdave
turtleguy
woweezowee
waterstain
arquene
booknoser
hotmonkeysex
darklily
maidofspades
tiendasexo
laughercurve
krazyfox
adwhore
bobmcgoogle