thediastema's Diaryland Diary

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

Peanut Gallery

What more articulate people [than myself] are saying about the new war

Melissa: I think one of the worst results of this war would be for me to die a virgin.

The only way to make sure this doesn�t happen is to scope out emergency �Get It On� boys in my classes and from the pool of renters from work.

Jason: Things discussed/debated around the house/around others houses over the last three days: The war and anti-war views, the President, those loveable Dixie Chicks, The Simpsons, odd Elizabeth Smart theories (which I must say, sparked nods of 'ohhhhhkkkkkkkayyyyy I guess it's possible') and marriage. I could do without war and Elizabeth Smart discussions if for no other reasons than I come up with jokes that are far too inappropriate about both.

Bethany: note to self: when employing the use of a lookalike, particularly when this lookalike is set to be on international television, try to choose someone who is not suffering from renal failure. it just works better that way.

Laura L.: I can't believe we're at war right now. I honestly can't. I thought, up until the last moment or so, that somehow, war would be avoided.

Tavie P.: This is going to be bad. Terrible things will come of this.

Shan: Everyone else under the sun seems to be weighing in on the impending war... but it's really bound to happen, isn't it? It's been bound to happen for years. I remember having discussions about it three years ago, about how isolated the States are and how someone among the nations is bound to get irritated everntually. Terrorism? Predicted. War? Predicted.

Tones: Hey. Know what? Having the last 4 minutes of 'Angel' pre-empted by the goddamn war coverage is not cool. The girls and I were like 'huh?' when suddenly the screen was filled not with the beautiful David and Eliza, but with a news anchor dude. Then we all sorta screamed. Fecking hell. Anyone know what I missed in those last 4 minutes?

Heidi: I knew it was gonna happen. If Baby Bush doesn't get his way right away, he throws a tantrum. And I'd like to say this of the uber in-your-face wartime coverage our darling media has been shoving down our throats: The entire world IS NOT attacking each other. For the love of god, stop buying duct tape.

Laura L. So, "Operation: Iraqi Freedom" sure is a swell way of saying, "Let's bomb the crap outta those towelheads and free the ten or so that are left over."

I guess "Operation: Enduring Euphemism" is going well.

Aiah: You know, I'm staunchly anti-war, and I'm staunchly anti-Bush, but there is something to be said for an administration that single-handedly delivers the most disturbing news in the most hilarious format.

For example, today I read three or four different front page headlines. The first one was something like, "Saddam Rejects US Ultimatum". The second one was "Saddam Scorns Bush's Ultimatum", and the last one was "Saddam Mocks US Ultimatum". I guess the logical fourth one would be "Saddam Pees on US Ultimatum, Then Signs Return-To-Sender Slip".

Lori: Our mayor says to see Broadway shows and eat out. Pft.

Stumbling around, acting as if. Can we move on?

More perspectives to come. I just thought I'd kick-start with a few I liked.

~ETK

22:29 - 20 March, 2003

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

previous - next

latest entry

about me

archives

notes

DiaryLand

contact

random entry

other diaries:

andshewas
andrew
androydegirl
apexsensatin
arriyah
azazoth
badgrammar
bayliss
binzey
blowtorch
bn2b
captionthis
constable
dialectical
duckfoil
eon
feetintheair
get-a-grip
hot-topic
jamayia
jesuscrust
kissacod
libbylynn
localaura
m-1967
modernlove
motherlode
mornglory
oddgoogle
onea
orewane
petite-bijou
pharinet
purefiction
rebecca
shlippy
silverangelz
soch
socio-eco
mai-liis
toejam
tones
torchy
thunderdave
turtleguy
woweezowee
waterstain
arquene
booknoser
hotmonkeysex
darklily
maidofspades
tiendasexo
laughercurve
krazyfox
adwhore
bobmcgoogle