thediastema's Diaryland Diary

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

LOOK OUT LOOK OUT LOOK OUT!

Now, granted it's been a couple of years. Probably this is what made it so weird seeing you looking exactly the same. This made me recognise you.

Having done all this to my hair and resurrected my four-eyed identity and resculpted my eyebrows, to say nothing of the plastic surgery, I couldn't be sure you recognised me.

But I think you did. I think you did, because after about three minutes in the booth across from ours at my boyfriend's favourite Chinese restaurant, I saw you slide another butt-width into the bench and turn your head just fifteen degrees or so to the left. And hey, I almost asked my seatmate to switch me sides so my own face would be obscured by the fake maple tree, I mean, I came really close. I mean, I get it. I do.

But the light caught in your coke-bottle glasses and the same lazy ponytail you'd assembled back in our pyjama-bottoms-and-Crazy-E-sweatshirts-and-animal-slippers-at-the-bagel-shop days. And it all hit me, the bagels and your red-stripe socks and your Pep Club sweater and your Victoria's Secret lotion and California and nachos and your tantrums and soup-and-olives and ditching school and your untweezed-waiting-for-the-salon-wax eyebrows and your ectomorphic boyfriend and the fight on graduation day and the pizza parlour and the car the car the car the car the car and the blood everywhere.

And Super Friends Kraft Dinner.

And REM songs along 900 South.

And primping up for banquets and concerts and plays.

And the summer I stopped returning your calls.

Long story short (but too late) I finished my vegetarian sweet-and-sour and we paid the tab and the tip and escaped into the night, and I pretended it never happened.

But I'm thinking about it now, aren't I?

~ETK

"on fridays there's a farmer's market in oakland between my train stop and my place of work. thus, i ride the huffy on through and check out the super-tiny old asian ladies, er, i mean the produce. but those ladies are REALLY tiny. and i bought me one single bunch of grapes today that is bigger than my head. i don't have an enormous head or anything, but these grapes look like they grew on the vine of god. wow." --adwhore

16:45 - 10 August, 2003

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

previous - next

latest entry

about me

archives

notes

DiaryLand

contact

random entry

other diaries:

andshewas
andrew
androydegirl
apexsensatin
arriyah
azazoth
badgrammar
bayliss
binzey
blowtorch
bn2b
captionthis
constable
dialectical
duckfoil
eon
feetintheair
get-a-grip
hot-topic
jamayia
jesuscrust
kissacod
libbylynn
localaura
m-1967
modernlove
motherlode
mornglory
oddgoogle
onea
orewane
petite-bijou
pharinet
purefiction
rebecca
shlippy
silverangelz
soch
socio-eco
mai-liis
toejam
tones
torchy
thunderdave
turtleguy
woweezowee
waterstain
arquene
booknoser
hotmonkeysex
darklily
maidofspades
tiendasexo
laughercurve
krazyfox
adwhore
bobmcgoogle